Day 50 Renton-Lowestoft

Stunning, stunning morning. No tent nonsense, I just shut the car door, grabbed my boat, and walked away.

image

It was real sunbathing weather and in hindsight, me paddling only inches from the beach was probably just a yearning to be on it.

I took lunch a few miles early of the plan and treated myself to fish and chips which I enjoyed in the company of the Sea Palling RNLI boys. Had to make a return visit to the chippy though after being short fished.

image

The lunch hour melted away as quick as my ice cream and soon turned into 90 minutes. I eventually got on and grinded out the miles. Shades and cap on, earphones in, I reckon I looked like a real player in the game.

Great Yarmouth, a fairly major checkpoint.The funfair juxtaposed against the adjacent power station was the backdrop for my 2 mile race with a jogger who turned inland before the finish line. Draw.

Having had the peaceful evening paddle ruined by some droning jetskis I pulled up at Corton, a tactical mile short of Lowestoft. I met a hang glider packing away after landing. He was delirious with hunger so it was a fine opportunity to do someone else a good turn. A snickers sorted him out enough to give me a lift with my boat. Is that still a good deed?

I still had time after the late finish to stash my boat in the brachan and get a pint at a dull as dishwater pub. To make matters worse I was charged 80p a bottle to fill up my water. I couldn’t be bothered to protest and instead decided I’d just blog about it. Yeah now he’s sorry.

Good mileage, mostly good people. Mostly good day…mostly.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day 50 Renton-Lowestoft

  1. Ruskin says:

    nice 😉

Leave a Reply

