Day 39 Arbroath-Dunbar

Having no access to my boat overnight meant a wasted opportunity to service and dry kit. My breakfast was in the boat so hunger spurred on a nice early start. The boat building crew had thankfully started work and were a sound bunch.

The task ahead was a double crossing. 16nm, rest, 16nm. A solid start encouraged by a tasty tail wind, I passed on the off route landing at the halfway mark, instead opting for a quick on the water rest. The crossing from Fife Ness to Dunbar was brilliant. Flat calm and broken by breezing past the Isle of May which looks uncannily like Shutter Island. It’s also prime fishing grounds judging by the success of the puffins, the gannets were just hunting seaweed.

image

Happy to close in on Dunbar on my longest day for some time, I scouted what looked like a soft sandy beach in front of green campable fields. Double disappointment as I scrambled my way through a dumpy landing littered with rocks all ready to bite a hole out of my boat, then realised the fields were a golf course.

After a sneaky Guinness at a far too posh hotel bar, I wandered back to the boat. I resisted being tempted toward the freshly mowed bit with a flag and instead pitched in a dutty corner.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day 39 Arbroath-Dunbar

  1. Martin says:

    Nice going joe !keep on paddling.
    Martin

  2. Kieran says:

    dude, you are in fact a legend! The young people I work with cant believe that such a feat is possible, until they see this blog. Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

