Day 31 Thurso-Wick

If there’s one place on the whole trip to get the tides right, the Pentland Firth is it. Comprising of 3 main races where tides flow in excess of 12 knots (3 times my normal pace) I made sure to carefully time my arrival.

It would start flowing east at 1500 so I allowed two hours to get there and enjoyed the morning off. After a quick run into town and an offering from the energy bar fairy (thanks whoever you are), I left, paddling into the headwind which I knew would soon become tailwind.

Timed the tides to perfection and enjoyed, for the first time in a week, making miles without slogging.

Amazing run through the race at Dunnet Head, still flying through the Men of Mey and a full throttle ride through the main race inside Stromer Island. At one point I stopped for lunch and covered a mile by the time I’d finished. 

Hard right at John o Groats and quite suddenly, all conditions in my favour. I reluctantly stopped to get snaps of the stacks and the Guillemots lined up on rock shelves then let the Taran do what it does best; catch wave chains on a following sea. Covered the same distance as yesterday in 5 hours less!

image

image

At Wick I bumped into the canoe club and coach Bill offered sound advice on camping and local amenities.

Feels great to be moving south and to finally get some assistance.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day 31 Thurso-Wick

  1. Great pictures. Am loving the blogs. Keep up the good work and most importantly enjoy XXX

Leave a Reply

