Day 10 Abersoch-Morfa Nefyn

Stuck between a rock and a hard place, I missed my pushing tide whilst waiting for appalling headwinds to die down.

Good snappy getaway in the morning involving the trolley and a long haul down the low tide beach. No drama though because the hunger is back and I was right up for it! Needed to hug the coast through Hell’s Mouth, but I didn’t and the F7 north westerly being funneled through Bardsey Sound made progress almost impossible. Pulled out and took shelter in on a tiny beach where I took lunch in the company of a million flies.

When the wind had died down it was time to take on Bardsey Sound and it was cranking through there. Wind against tide creating exciting conditions but the Taran was totally capable and looked after me well.

Afternoon push against the tide all the way to Morfa Nefyn to get within reach of Anglesey. Arrived knackered but was warmly received by Stuart the landlord of Ty Coch Inn who rustled up some Cornish Pasties and a pint on the house. Stuart told me that some years ago he’d done the same for Pete Bray and Steve Macdonald, it’s great to be following in their footsteps. I’d pitched my tent on the dunes but on return to the tent…nothing, tent gone!! Frantically scrambling, I beamed my headtorch into the sea to find canvas and all floating in the dark. Very luckily I managed to retrieve everything before Stuart from the pub helped me rinse it all, tumble dry the sleeping bag. He even sorted me a bed for the night.

So thanks again to the kindness of strangers, I’ve learned another lesson without paying too heavy a price.

Need to cut out the mistakes. Stuart you are a hero.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

